Noxious Weed

The purpose of the Kingman County Noxious Weed Department is to control and eradicate noxious weeds county-wide. The Kansas Noxious Weed Law was enacted in 1937 and lists 12 weeds in the state as "noxious" for their various characteristics, such as:
  • Crop competition resulting in economic loss
  • Invasive and prolific growth patterns
  • Persistent stand qualities
Local Weeds
Of the 12 weeds listed by the Kansas Department of Agriculture, 4 are found in Kingman County. They are:
  1. Field Bindweed
  2. Johnson Grass
  3. Musk Thistle
  4. Sericea Lespedeza
Also included in the KDA's list as an "optional" weed is the Multi-Flora Rose.

The Noxious Weed Department provides chemicals and application assistance to private landowners, townships, and county and state rights-of-way. Other responsibilities include annually surveying 10 sections in the county that are determined by the Kansas Department of Agriculture for weed infestations and maintaining reports of chemical sales, acreage treated, acreage surveyed, and total infested acres.

Seasonal Help
The county utilizes seasonal help during the peak growing season. Those seasonal employees are usually a combination of clerical support and/or spray applicators. Once the rainy season starts, as we Kansans all know, the weeds can quickly take over.